Authentication Settings / Quick Start

Register a Hootsuite Account

If you don’t yet have a Hootsuite account, you’ll need to register for a free Hootsuite account here.

Connect Your Social Media

Before posting from your site to social media, you’ll need to authorize the plugin. This allows you to can send status updates to Hootsuite when Posts are published, updated, reposted or bulk published, based on the Plugin’s settings

Hover over Social Media in the top menu bar of your Admin Screen and select Settings.

In the next window, click the Authorize Plugin button.

You will be directed to the Hootsuite login page. Login to your Hootsuite Account

The next screen will ask you to allow WordPress to Hootsuite to access your Hootsuiteaccount

When successful, you will be taken back to your Admin Screen.

Connect Social Media Accounts to Hootsuite

If you have already used Hootsuite with your social media accounts, you can skip the next steps.

If your Hootsuite account does not have any of your social media profiles connected to it (for example, you’ve just registered an account with Hootsuite), you will be prompted to connect your social media accounts to Hootsuite.

This is required, so  you can choose which social media accounts to send your status messages to.

Click the Connect Profiles button. 

You will be taken to Hootsuite. Click the Private Account button and follow the steps to connect your social media accounts. You can also go directly to Hootsuite by clicking here.

Once complete, refresh the Plugin screen, and you’ll see the connected social media accounts listed.

You’ll see a notice at the top of the screen, stating that at least one social media profile must be enabled. Continue reading for the next steps.

Enable Social Media Accounts

Finally, your Hootsuite plugin needs to be configured to tell it which social media profile(s) to send statuses to via Hootsuite.

Click each social media profile in the left hand list of tabs that you want to post to and click Save.

The warning message should disappear, and a green tick appear on the Posts tab, telling us that the Plugin has been successfully configured to send your Posts to the selected social media profiles via Hootsuite when you publish a Post.